From the Shadows FAQ’s
1. General Combat & Attack Rules
1) If I kill a monster do I suffer its attack anyway?
Attacks are considered simultaneous, so yes you still receive damage even if you killed the monster. It is possible for you to kill the monster and it to kill you. If that happens you still get the monster trophy and its loot.
2) Do Sam’s adjacent bubbles attack monsters too?
Yes, his adjacent bubbles do attack monsters just like the Conjurer.
3) I understand that the Conjurer takes damage only from the monster target of the main attack bubble, but does this also affect monster’s attributes?
She is affected by the attributes of the monster the attack card is placed in front of only.
4) Does Sam ignore monsters’ attributes when attacking them (for example Grotesque gargoyle that can only be attacked by 3+ value attack cards)?
No, the only ability he should ignore would be anything that causes additional damage or force discards as he has no health and no hand of cards.
2. Items, Symbols, and Combos
1) If an item or item combo is used without an attack card is right (as stated in the rulebook) that the card/s remain on the board until the monster is killed instead of being discarded as usual?
Yes, you may attack with an item or item combo, but if you do the items used must stay under that monster until it is killed.
2) For each symbol on the item card/s played by the Illusionist, have I the choice to apply it to the attacked or defending monster? Also can I change one single symbol on a card to another?
Yes, the choice is yours if you want the symbol to be used for attack or defence. Since there are multiple symbols on cards or on combos you may choose attack or defense per symbol used. And the Illusionist's power allows you to change one single symbol on any card. This includes monsters, items, or Opportunity cards.
3) When using an item or item combo with an attack card played by the Conjurer, the symbols are added only to the main attack or also to area attacks?
When the Conjurer attacks with "Ferro", "Fireball", or "Blessed" - the symbol on the card affects all bubbles. Also the symbol on those special attack cards can trigger a combo effect on an item. When using an Item with any area attack, it will only affect the main bubble... unless you use the spell "Control" - which allows you to not only rotate bubbles, but add the effect of items and item combos to all bubbles.
3. Druid Questions
1) When I use the mana potion of the Druid, do I gain 3 physical tokens + 2 "virtual" tokens (that must be used that turn only)?
Yes you would gain up to the three physical tokens and two virtual ones, totaling 5 tokens, to be used on the turn (if you don't use all the physical ones you may keep them).
2) What does it mean that "the Druid can't use his ability, drink his potion and then use his ability again immediately"?
As an example. You have accumulated 3 mana tokens. You can not use those three mana tokens for health, then use your potion to gain three physical tokens and the two virtual ones. You are only allowed to use your ability once per turn.
3) What's specifically is the Druid ability that can't be used more than once in a turn?
There are three aspects to his ability: Gain a token at the beginning of the turn (potion modifies). Use tokens as either defense, health, or attack. Take an additional damage from Monster attacks.
4) If I use the Mana Potion the Druid gains 2 tokens instead of the one per turn no 2+1?
He naturally gets one token at the beginning of the turn, then the potion adds 2 tokens giving him 3 physical tokens. On top of that you gain 2 additional mana for the turn.
He cannot have more than three physical tokens in the game, so if this potion is used when he has already accumulated more than one token you will only receive up to the limit of 3 three physical tokens plus the two mana for the turn. (no matter what you should have a max of 5 mana for the turn).
The additional mana will dissipate at the end of the turn if not used, but unused tokens will remain.
5) If I spend more than one Mana token in a turn, must I use them all for the same thing or can I use for example 1 for attack and 1 for health?
You can use each token differently, or all the same. However you would like to allocate them.
6) If I use a Mana Potion on my turn, I can only use token/s before or after drinking it, not both times, right?
That is correct
4. Chef Questions
1) The Chef can attack with one food + an item or item combo?
Yes, he may. He is allowed to use items and item combos with his food and spice combos. The limit is 2 food, 3 spices, 2 combinable items (to be used in any combination between them).
2) Does food used as attack from the Chef count for the Grotesque Gargoyle’s attribute (can only use and attack card of 3 or higher)?
When the chef attacks his food combo would be is main attack. So against the gargoyle, if he needs 3 attack or higher, then his two food combo must be a total of at least 3.
5. Illusionist Questions
1) When the illusionist plays an attack card, it is placed in front of a monster (which will attack the illusionist) and then a bubble to attack is chosen (which could be the same or a different monster), right?
That is correct. Though the bubble chosen must be directly corresponding to the monster it is assigned to. For example: in a 251 bubble card the 2 is assigned to the monster to the left, the 5 is assigned to the monster the card is placed in front of, and the 1 is assigned to the monster to the right.
2) Is the Illusionist affected by the attribute of the monster which correspond to the bubble he chooses for attack?
He should only be affected by the attribute of the monster the attack card is played in front of just like the Conjurer.
3) When the Illusionist deflects damage with their potion, is the damage applied to the Monster/Villain?
Damage would be applied to whatever they are attacking.
6. Conjurer Questions
1) When the Conjurer uses “Control” how can she rotate the bubbles? Only 90 degrees or 45 also?
Control rotates the bubbles In either direction as far as you like. It does not change the order of the bubbles.
7. Bard, Soldier, Assassin
1) How does work the Bard ability when playing solo?
It doesn’t unless you are using opportunities (which is optional).
2) The attribute on the Bard's song that applies to the other heroes affects Sam too?
Yes. He is in part a virtual player.
3) Does the Soldier's ability work against the Villain?
Yes the Soldier's ability works against the Villain (as does the Assassin's)
8. Curses, Blessings, Familiars, and Loot
1) When curses are removed are they trashed?
A blessing will trash a curse (or killing a Vengeful Spirit in the Mummy scenario) otherwise it passes to another player or Sam depending on conditions.
2) Does Sam gain curses? If yes can he remove them?
Sam gains curses but they only affect his score at the end of the game (-3). No, he cannot remove them. It goes to his loot pile.
3) When the removing condition triggers the curses is passed to Sam (directly to his discard pile)?
Yes
4) Does a Werewolf Familiar go to Sam’s discard pile when he receives them?
Yes, they will be 1 point at end game scoring for him.
5) Mummy curses, when gained, stay in front of the hero? It Doesn't go in the discard pile?
Curses remain in front of the hero until either passed along or trashed (they do not go in your discard pile).
9. Solo Mode — Sam’s Behavior
1) When playing solo against Sam if he used an area attack card, the highest attack card is the highest value bubble?
Yes, the highest attack card is the highest value attack bubble.
2) In the case of 535 card how does he choose if he must use the left or right bubble?
In the case of 535 if he can kill with one of the fives he should do so (all bubbles attack like Conjurer).
3) The word "Monster" on the solo section of the opportunities includes the Villain too?
There is a difference between “Monster” and “Villain”. If it doesn’t say “Villain”, then the Villain is not included.
4) When Sam plays an instant area attack card and a monster can't be killed, he plays it on the strongest monster?
Correct
5) If Sam plays and opportunity that gives +2 attack to the monster and my target is the Villain, the +2 doesn't trigger?
If you chose to attack the Villain and reveal the Opportunity that the monster gains 2 attack, then that Opportunity would not affect you.
6) Can the Master Vampire steal health above her starting value (15 hp)?
Yes, all Villains and monsters can go above their starting health.
10. Solo Opportunities — Timing and Resolution
1) Does the solo Opportunity that plays an additional Opportunity trigger immediately when I reveal it or on the Sam's next turn?
It should happen immediately.
2) Does the Opportunity that forces me to skip my next turn refer to the turn following the one when I reveal it?
Yes, you would skip the following turn, not the current turn.
3) What happens with the Opportunity that makes me trash the top card of my draw pile when all my cards are in discard/hand/in front of monsters?
In this case you should shuffle your discard pile and then trash the top card.
11. Solo Opportunities — Special “Only Villain Remains” Cases
1) What happens if the Villain is the only thing left, and the Opportunity comes up that says if a monster is killed set its health to 1 instead?
This opportunity can be ignored when only facing the Villain.
2) What happens if the Villain is the only thing left, and the Opportunity comes up that says Sam will attack the monster with the fewest attack cards under it?
Seeing as the Villain is the only one to attack then that is what Sam will attack (in other words you can ignore the effect of this opportunity).
3) What happens if the Villain is the only thing left, and the Opportunity comes up that says if a monster is killed move its loot to another active monster…?
Trash the loot. The Villain is not considered a monster.
4) Sam plays his 2 highest attack cards on the lowest monster (ignore instant play)
Since there are no monsters on the board the effects of this opportunity will be ignored.
5) For general rules of the attack phase does Sam treat the Villain as other monsters?
Yes, that is true.
12. Receiving Opportunity Cards in Solo Mode
1) Can I choose to receive regular Opportunity Cards when Sam kills monsters?
No. There are only two choices:
A) Easy mode – Sam gets his 10 Solo Opportunity cards, and I can get the other 10 – 1 per monster Sam kills.
B) Hard mode – Sam gets his 10 Solo Opportunity cards, and I get no Opportunity cards during the game.
2) When Sam gets to play a Solo Opportunity card on me… how does this work?
If the Solo Card played by Sam says, "Play an Opportunity", an Opportunity Card is played face-down in front of me. Then on my turn, I pick "Attack" or "Eat". At this point, the Opportunity Card is turned over. Then one of two basic things will happen.
A) If the instructions in the Opportunity Card Solo Area are relevant to my turn, I execute those instructions against me.
B) If the instructions in the Opportunity Card Solo Area are relevant to Sam's turn, I "hold the card over" until Sam's turn and then execute the instructions to Sam's benefit on his turn.
3) One of the "Solo Opportunities" cards says… "Sam plays his 2 highest Attack cards on the lowest Monster (Ignore INSTANT PLAY)". How does this work?
When this event is played you will draw all three cards from Sam's deck ignoring the Instant Play rule and lay them face up. Now of those three cards you will play the two highest cards together to (most likely) kill a monster.
4) In Solo Mode, does Sam ever receive Opportunity Cards for killing monsters?
No. Solo Opportunities are not given to Sam. He has 10 of them to start the game which also acts as a timer. These Opportunities are played on you when Sam plays an attack card that says, "Play an Opportunity".

